Sunday, November 25, 2007

Green Lantern: Rebirth

by Geoff Johns, Ethan Van Sciver and Prentis Rollins

I didn't want to like this one--it commits what has to be one of the biggest transgressions in comic book continuity. (in my eyes, at least) It resurrects a character previously killed off. There are many characters that have been killed off by bad editorial decisions, but as far as I'm concerned, resurrecting them only makes for worse story telling. As a reader, why should I even care when a character sacrifices their life if I know that in a few years they will be revived by a different editor? Anyway, enough ranting. The problem with Green Lantern: Rebirth is that it is very well done. The writing is very good--grand and sweeping, chock full of insights into the characters and mythos. The artwork is even better, following in the vein of Neal Adams and Brian Bolland. So if you don't mind yet another comic book resurrection, go ahead and check this one out.

LibraryThing link

Labels: ,

Comments: Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?

Subscribe to Posts [Atom]